seagull logo

 

22 Station Road, Bellport, NY 11713, Phone (631) 286-0818, Fax (631) 286-4873

Home Catalog Adult Programs & Services Library Information Teens Children's Page

Biography & Genealogy

Biography Reference Center

Offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine.

 

Ancestry Library Edition

A large collection of genealogy databases and census records that are searchable for your ancestors.  Only available in the library.

 

-------

 

 

 

Footnote

Helps you find and share historic documents. We are able to bring you many never-before-seen historic documents through our unique partnerships with The National Archives, the Library of Congress and other institutions.

 

HeritageQuest

Find Family History and Census information including U.S. federal census records from 1790-1930 plus searchable family histories.

 

World Vital Records

Provides genealogy databases and family history networking tools to a worldwide audience.

 

Literature Resource Center

Find Author information.

 

Suffolk Historic Newspapers

Includes newspapers with obituaries covering nearly 100 years of Suffolk County history. Now includes The Patchogue (Long Island) Advance.

 

Newsday Historical

Complete articles from 1940 to 1984. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

 

 

 

New York Times Historical

Find Obituaries and death notices back to 1851. Type in a name in the search box (last name, first name); click on more search options at the bottom of the screen; click the down arrow button for document type; click on obituary; click the search button.

 

New York Amsterdam News

One of the nation’s leading black newspapers and one of New York’s most influential black-owned institutions. It is a great resource for both news and genealogy. Coverage runs from 1922-1993.

 

Index to Birth, Marriage, & Death Announcements in The Long Island Advance

The Long Island Advance, historically known as The Advance and The Patchogue Advance, is a weekly newspaper established in 1871. In its early years, the newspaper covered news for much of Suffolk County. This is a work in progress. To date, names entered online extend from 1879 to 1889.