seagull logo

 

22 Station Road, Bellport, NY 11713, Phone (631) 286-0818, Fax (631) 286-4873

Home Catalog Adult Programs & Services Library Information Teens Children's Page

Regional and National Newspapers

Newsday

Complete articles from 1985 onward.

 

Newsday Historical

Complete articles from 1940 to 1984. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

 

 

 

 

Outside Library

 

 

 

New York Times

Complete articles from 1995 onward including the Book Review and Magazine sections.

 

New York Times Historical

The entire historical run of The New York Times from 1851-2007. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

 

New York State Newspapers

Newspapers from the cities of Albany, Buffalo and Syracuse, plus the New York Observer, the New York Times, the New York Post, and the New York Daily News, back to 1980.

 

Wall Street Journal

Comprehensive coverage back to 1984 is available from the world's leading financial newspaper. 

 

Inside Library

 

 

Outside Library

 

 

Custom Newspapers

Search different newspaper databases at once.

 

New York Amsterdam News

One of the nation’s leading black newspapers and one of New York’s most influential black-owned institutions. It is a great resource for both news and genealogy. Coverage runs from 1922-1993.

 

National Newspapers (NOVEL)

Search indexes of national newspapers at the same time.

 

Suffolk Historic Newspapers

A centralized, searchable collection of Suffolk's newspaper heritage available to you online. Now includes The Patchogue Advance from 1926 to 1948.

 

U.S./International Major Newspapers

Full text collection of over 250 regional, national and international newspapers. Click here to view a title list of all newspapers included in the database.

 

Index to Birth, Marriage, & Death Announcements in The Long Island Advance

The Long Island Advance, historically known as The Advance and The Patchogue Advance, is a weekly newspaper established in 1871. In its early years, the newspaper covered news for much of Suffolk County. This is a work in progress. To date, names entered online extend from 1879 to 1889.